Are You Smarter than a Smartphone??


I have been wanting to upgrade to a new Smartphone as my phone that I had is an antique according to today’s phones.  I am not on a contract with any provider and three years ago decided to go with one of the “pay as you go” type of plans.  A couple weeks ago I bought the phone that I liked (using the same pay as you go provider that I had) and next thing to do was to activate it, which according to the directions, could be done via the website.  Well, that wasn’t able to happen so I had to call and get help.  This is where the nighmare began!  To make a LONG story short, after spending two days and hours on the phone with various people,  I was told 1) I could not keep my old phone number and 2) the phone couldn’t be activated as the store didn’t properly swipe it (I didn’t believe either of those answers).  I could either take the phone back, get a new one and then call back or fax some info to them and then I would get a call and I guess the phone could be activated at that time.  I said TO HECK WITH THAT!!!  I took the phone back, got a refund and decided it was time to go with someone else.  I have never experienced such poor customer service in my life!!

So I did a little more research and found who I wanted to go with and the phone I wanted.  Yesterday I went to the store (you actually get to speak to live people!!) and got the process started.  I actually ended up spending TWO hours there as transferring the number was the big issue (I blame the other company for that).  The young lady that helped me was very helpful and knowledgeable, even though she was new and if she didn’t have an answer, she would go to her manager and find out that answer for me.  I came home a happy camper.

I chose the Nokia Lumia 520 Windows 8 based phone.  I have never used Windows 8 but it is not hard to figure out.  Plus I got my handy dandy instruction booklet and Quick Guide to help out (I HATE reading directions, but at least the booket isn’t a gazillion pages long!).  And I was sent tutorials via email and those helped as well.  My contacts were already transferred so that was a huge benefit.  I have already figured out how to use the camera and where my photos are and how to text – two most important things, right?  Still got more to learn, but I am pretty quick learning new things, especially when it comes to programs and such.  And Google is my best friend!

So, the answer to the title of this blog is YES!  I am smarter than a Smartphone (or at least as smart!!)

 

DSC02840

Roscoe as my background photo!
Roscoe as my background photo!

 

Leave a Reply

