Happy Spring!


We bought some flowers last week so today, I got them planted – on the first day eve of of Spring!  Last week, I pulled up some Nandina that was being hidden by other shrubs and decided to transplant them where we dug up the Junipers that had died.  These will get lots more sunlight.  I also dug up some Nandina from our back flower bed too as they weren’t getting a lot of sun.  So, they should be happy.  Today I planted some purple Petunias (I always get petunias and pansies mixed up on which season they get planted), Diamond Frost (never had those and thought they were pretty in the store), Dianthus, a Carolina Jasmine and yellow/orange Lantana. Now all I have to do is put down the mulch.

While I was walking back to my wheelbarrow, I noticed Roscoe playing with something.  I thought it was one of Greg’s charcoal briquettes until I got closer.  Somehow he caught a black bird!  They have invaded my bird feeder this season causing me to fill up the feeder more than normal.  That will be one less bird to eat seed!  About a week or so ago, we bought 200 pounds of bird seed (yes, I wrote that right 200 pounds!).  We go through a lot of bird seed but I love to watch them as they eat!

3-10-14 no more Junipers
3-10-14 no more Junipers
Nandina about to get transplanted
Nandina about to get transplanted

DSC03274

Ready, set, Spring!
Ready, set, Spring!
Carolina Jasmine
Carolina Jasmine
Purple Petunias
Purple Petunias
Lantana
Lantana
Dianthus and Diamond Frost (white flowers)
Dianthus and Diamond Frost (white flowers)
I put these in front of the Nandina
I put these in front of the Nandina

DSC03282

Dianthus and Purple Petunias
Dianthus and Purple Petunias
Roscoe and his catch of the day
Roscoe and his catch of the day
Leave a Reply

