Happy Fall Y’all!


I was walking down to the mail box and stopped in my tracks – the Schoolhouse/Oxblood lillies are blooming!  I ran back to the house to get my camera.  I watered the BedBed the other day so I am sure that helped them to bloom.  These are my absolute favorite fall flower and are extremely hard to find.  If I do find more I will buy the store out!

I also love the contrast in color in the flower bed at the front gate.  The Coral Drift Rose is blooming nicely and so are the Dyanthus that I planted last year.  I love the deep red color of the Dyanthus.

dsc04458

Had an idea to decorate in the front yard and it started with two bales of hay and mums.  I stacked the bales of hay and then decided to carve out a place to put the mums.  That was a LOT harder than I thought it was, but I finally got it accomplished.  I  put the discarded hay in the wheel barrow and was just about to get rid of it and had another idea.  I needed some pumpkins, so my awesome husband and sis-in-law got some for me – they are perfect!  Then I wanted a sign so Greg made the sign for me and I hand painted the lettering.  The first try I did not like, so I painted over it and started over again.  I combined some paint colors and am happy with how it turned out.  Then, Greg bought this HUGE mum for me and I replanted it in a pot I had lying around.  After I got done painting, I was mixing all the colors together (red, green, yellow and bronze) and liked what I saw, so I painted the flower pot too.  I am very pleased with this (and the pups haven’t even tried to eat the pumpkins!).

Leave a Reply

